October 11, 2021

2021 National Scholarship Winners

At BetterLife, we want to help our young members become successful by supporting their education.

This year, we’re providing 58 national scholarships, totaling $68,000, to well-deserving scholars. Scholarships are awarded based on service in the community, academic achievements, and financial need.

The BetterLife National Scholarships include:

  • One $5,000 Annual Bradley Family Scholarship awarded to a worthy BetterLife student and donated by Board Director, Mary Bradley, and her family.
  • One $4,000 Presidential High School Scholarship awarded to one high school senior with outstanding volunteer service.
  • Three $2,000 Leadership Scholarships awarded to outstanding members.
  • Three $1,000 BetterLife Foundation Scholarships awarded to members for higher education.
  • One $1,000 Ruzek Family Scholarship awarded to a Minnesota resident/student.
  • (49) $1,000 Annual Scholarships awarded to deserving BetterLife members.

$5,000 Annual Bradley Family Scholarship

Christa Fornusek | Bannister, MI

Christa Fornusek BetterLife National Scholarship Award Photo

Christa will be attending University of Michigan. She is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in political science. After achieving her undergraduate degree, she hopes to attend law school. Christa’s dream is to work in Washington D.C. as an advisor or strategist for government officials.

$4,000 Presidential High School Scholarship

Brooke Fredrickson BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoBrooke Fredrickson | Thief River Falls, MN

Brooke will be attending Bemidji State University. She hopes to pursue a bachelor’s degree in mathematics or accounting. Brooke has dreams of becoming an accountant or mathematics teacher in the Northwest Minnesota Area. She also enjoys being an active member in her community with organizations such as BetterLife, her church, and her local 4-H.

$2,000 Leadership Scholarships

Luke Meyer BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoLuke Meyer | Baxter, MI

Luke will be attending Minnesota State University-Moorhead. He is pursuing a degree in mathematics education. Luke hopes to become a successful and supportive math teacher.

Daven Harrington BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoDaven Harrington | Weston, NE

Daven will be attending Mid-Plains Community College. He is pursuing an Associate of Applied Science degree in Auto Body Technology and a certificate in Classic Car Restoration. Daven hopes to have his own business in the auto body field and continue to work with people in
his community.

Christy Sopocy BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoChristy Sopocy | Bannister, MI

Christy is currently attending Michigan State University. She is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in construction management. Christy has had internships building public schools and hospitals. With her degree, she hopes to become a project manager, where she can help build safe and sustainable buildings.

$1,000 BetterLife Foundation Scholarship

Hunter Cummings BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoHunter Cummings | Clermont, IA

Hunter will be attending Hawkeye Community College, where he will be pursuing welding technology.

Justice Grant BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoJustice Grant | Brown Deer, WI

Justice will be attending the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee. He will be pursuing a bachelor’s degree in information science and technology.

Jon Kaske BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoJonathan Kaske | Superior, WI

Jonathan will be attending Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College. He will be pursing an associate degree in business management.

$1,000 Ruzek Scholarship

Lora Davis BetterLife National Scholarship Award PhotoLora Davis | Brainerd, MN

Lora will be attending Central Lakes College where she will pursue an associate degree in nursing.

$1,000 Annual Scholarship

Merideth Baleiko | North Fond du Lac, WI | Marian University
Zachery Borer | Morse Bluff, NE | University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Bailey Borer | Morse Bluff, NE | Nebraska Wesleyan University
Maggie Conlan | Balsam Lake, WI | Marquette University
Jack Derbique | Colorado Springs, CO | Colorado State University
Brett Dorner | Luxemburg, WI | University of Wisconsin – Green Bay
Breckin Faber | New Glarus, WI | University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
Joie Fittante | Prior Lake, MN | East Carolina University
Claire Franke | Fond du Lac, WI | University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
Jordan Gilles | Cadott, WI | Cornell University
Makaila Groves | Hartford, WI | Purdue University – Fort Wayne
Tori Hale | Phillips, NE | Bryan College of Health Sciences
Zachary Hosek | Lincoln, NE | University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Ella Hosek | Lincoln, NE | Nebraska Wesleyan University
Alex Kautzer | Kiel, WI | Fox Valley Technical College
Charles Madsen | North Bend, NE | University of Nebraska – Omaha
Colin Martinek | Rockwell, IA | South Dakota State University
Margaret Niego | Chicago, IL | Xavier University
Emmanuel-Jason Oketona | Bolingbrook, IL | Illinois State University
Ivon Owen | Concordia, KS | Kansas State University
Ethan Paulsen | Anamosa, IA | University of Iowa
Tyler Philipps | Marinette, WI | Concordia University – Wisconsin
Lily Prodoehl | Kaukauna, WI | University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire
Jasmyn Reckner | Spencer, WI | University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
Anna Rekow | Chaska, MN | University of Minnesota – Twin Cities
Julia Richardson | Sheboygan, WI | Concordia University – Wisconsin
Maxwell Rohert | Swisher, IA | University of Northern Iowa
Shelby Rohwetter | Saint Charles, MI | Michigan Technological University
Madelyn Roth | Juda, WI | University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point
Samantha Saadeh | Georgetown, TX | Sam Houston State University
Sydni Schernikau | Lincoln, NE | Cleveland University – Kansas City
Lauren Sharpless | Iowa City, IA | University of Iowa
MaryKate Shlimovitz | Portage, WI | Madison College
Emily Sopocy | Bannister, MI | Saginaw Valley State University
Mary Sopocy | Bannister, MI | Saginaw Valley State University
Trey Sucha | Verdigre, NE | Northeast Community College
Wyatt Tauber | Backus, MN | Rochester Institute of Technology
Ethen Tretheway | Germantown, WI | University of Wisconsin – Madison
Victoria Turner | Tulsa, OK | Oklahoma State University
Chase Walker | Eau Galle, WI | University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
Carli Wendricks | De Pere, WI | Saint Louis University
Delaney Wendt | Fond du Lac, WI | University of Wisconsin – La Crosse
Alexandar Wickershiem | Appleton, WI | University of Wisconsin – Madison
Emitt Wilk | Goldsby, OK | University of Tulsa
Seth Wright | Petersburg, NE | University of Nebraska – Lincoln
Scott Wright | Petersburg, NE | Harvard University
Stephanie Wright | Petersburg, NE | Doane University
Benjamin Xiong | Appleton, WI | Beloit College
Porter Yang | Sheboygan, WI | University of New Mexico

2022−2023 scholarship information will be available in November 2021 by mail and online at: betterlifeins.com/member-resources/scholarships.

To see more member highlights and stories, sign up for our monthly member email, The Better Buzz OR connect with us on Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn